Mbarara University of Science and Technology

Organisation Acronym: 

Mbarara University of Science and Technology also known as MUST was opened in October 1989 after extensive modification of physical facilities of the former School of Midwifery at the Mbarara District hospital.  The Mbarara University of Science and Technology Statue 1989 as passed by the National Resistance Council was the enabling law that established MUST as  a body corporate. At that time Uganda’s economy and social infrastructure which had collapsed, due to  civil wars in the 1970’s and 1980’s. Therefore, with the government’s realization that higher education was a critical asset for nation building, and in particular that Science and Technology was the most realistic driver to lead this initiative, MUST was therefore a welcome idea and has to date lived to that expectation.

Overcoming several set up challenges the new Vice Chancellor Professor Frederick I.B Kayanja, in collaboration with 4 Cuban professors started the pioneer Faculty of Medicine opening its gates to the first 43 students admitted to the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) program. Since October 28th, 1989 MUST has seen many community innovations, which have contributed to its development and that of our motherland Uganda. It has grown from a single Medical faculty university serving a student population of 43 to two faculties of Science and Development Studies and two institutes of Computer Science and Tropical Forest Conservation (ITFC) which is based in the Bwindi Impenetrable National Park with a population of 3,508 as of January 2012. To attain this level of educational progress has been no small feat.

In May 2012, the University finally unveiled and commissioned the much talked about move to a spacious campus at Kihumuro located 7 km on Mbarara- Bushenyi road with the commissioning of the Estates and works Block and handing over the site for the construction of the Faculty of Applied Science and Technology bringing to fruition the whole spectrum of this great University of Science and Technology.

Country of Coverage: 
Region of Coverage: 
East Africa
Year of joining RUFORUM: 
Membership Status: 
Full Member